Internet Famous by Danika Stone: Interview & Giveaway!

Internet Famous

Synopsis :

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

Interview:

1) You’ve written multiple books that deal with fandoms, what are some of your fandoms?

My fandom involvement tends to go in waves. I also tend to shift fandoms by television seasons. My very first fandoms were The X-Files, Twin Peaks, Star Trek and Dr. Who. Currently, I’m obsessed with The 100, the entire Marvel universe, The Walking Dead (though that’s mainly for Darryl and Carol) and The Star Wars franchise (especially The Force Awakens, Rogue One, and any storyline that includes a young Leia Organa).

2) What do you enjoy writing more, YA or mystery/thriller?

I love both, and that’s not a cop-out. I really do! YA allows me to explore coming-of-age challenges and youthful perspective. There’s a real joy to giving voice to stories I think need to be shared. I also LOVE YA fans. They are so open and caring that I can’t help but want to do and write better books for them!

The flip side is that mystery/thrillers let me go into the darkest part of the human mind. I adore the complex plotting that goes into them, and I love working with my editor, Dinah, to weave a story so water-tight that readers have to keep turning the pages to find out if they have guessed the ending or not.

3) You’ve worked with SwoonReads on multiple books. What do you love about working with them?

The Swoon team is absolutely AMAZING! They are so hands-on and accessible. I never feel like I’m writing into the void. I can just call them up (or in my case do a Google Hangout) and actually talk through story ideas and editing issues. If you are a writer and are looking for a place to submit, I’d strongly encourage Swoon Reads. They are incredible!

4) Would you want to be internet famous?

Yes! The great thing about internet fame is that – for the most part – your daily life gets to stay sane. Of course if I had to deal with trolls the way Madi does in Internet Famous, I’d probably change my mind.

5) What other upcoming projects do you have in the works?

My most current book is The Dark Divide, the sequel to my mystery/thriller Edge of Wild. It’s coming out sometime late next year or early the next. There is also an as-yet-untitled contemporary YA which I’m editing at the moment, set to come out from Swoon Reads. (No date set as of yet.) And, of course, there are about a hundred WIPs!

Random Fire:
1) Favorite female literary character?

Ack! Just one? I suppose I’ll go with Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games trilogy.

2) Hot or Cold?

I like cold weather more than hot. (That’s a good thing since I live in Canada!)

3) If you weren’t a writer, what would be your dream job?

Writing is definitely my dream job in this universe, but in another one, I’d LOVE to be that person at the zoo who gets to foster wild baby animals. I would pay for the chance to bottle-feed a lion cub or fluff up the fur of a baby otter so it could float. *sighs*

4) Favorite social media site?

I probably spend most of my time on Twitter, but I ADORE Tumblr, simply because the posts are so much more detailed.

My Thoughts:

I haven’t had the pleasure of reading this book yet, but based on the other books of Danika’s that I’ve read I know this one will be great too! I’ve had mine preordered for months! Also go read Edge of Wild! It’s an amazing thriller that keeps you guessing til the very end and I can’t wait for the sequel to it!

Goodreads Link

Preorder Links: Amazon- US / Amazon – UK / Barnes & Nobles / Book Depository

DanikaStonePortrait2About the Author:

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens (All the Feels and Internet Famous) adults (Edge of Wild and Intaglio). When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

Social Media: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / YouTube / Tumblr / Pinterest

Ms. Stone is represented by Morty Mint of Mint Literary Agency.

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 11.53.32 PM

Tour Schedule:

Name Post Type Date Blog URL
MAY
Christine Mood board 22 Tine Reviews https://tinesreviews.wordpress.com/
Jordan Interview 23 The Heart of a Book Cover theheartofabookblogger.com
Fatima Guest Post 24 Fafa’s Book Corner: https://fafasbookcorner.wordpress.com/
Bianca Interview 25 The Ultimate Fangirl https://notoriouslaylow.wordpress.com
Brooke Review 26 The Cozy Little Book Nook http://thecozylittlebooknook.weebly.com/blog
Heather Guest Post 29 The Hermit Librarian http://thehermitlibrarian.wordpress.com
Cilla Review 30 Paved with Books pavedwithbookss.blogspot.com
Jamie Review 31 Books and Ladders http://booksandladders.blogspot.com/
JUNE
Nicole Lynn Review 1 Boundless Bookaholic http://www.boundlessbookaholic.com/
Breanna Guest Post 2 Recommends Book https://recommendsbook.wordpress.com/
Emily Interview 5 Little Book Wyrm http://www.little-book-wyrm.com
Amber Excerpt 6 Bookstackamber bookstacksamber.wordpress.com
Ardis Review 7 Pondering the Prose http://ponderingtheprose.blogspot.com
Bayy Guest Post 8 Bayy in Wonderland bayyinwonderland.wordpress.com
Annalisse Review 9 Hopeful Reads hopefulreads.wordpress.com
Sara Excerpt 12 A Gingerly Review https://agingerlyreview.wordpress.com/
Wren Review 13 The Litaku http://thelitaku.blogspot.com/
Krystianna Review 14 Downright dystopian http://downrightdystopian.blogspot.com/
Kathleen Interview 15 Books, TV, & More… Oh My! kcmmp13.wordpress.com
Bonnie Excerpt 16 A Backwards Story http://abackwardsstory.blogspot.com/

 

One thought on “Internet Famous by Danika Stone: Interview & Giveaway!

  1. Dear Kathleen,

    Thank you for sharing this absolutely lovely interview with Danika Stone on your blog and also for being a part of the SST Tour. We truly appreciate it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

