#TopTenTuesday: Books in Magical Worlds

toptentuesday

Hi everyone. I’ve been in a bit of a writer’s block, so I thought I’d give this week’s Top Ten Tuesday a try. Thanks so much Jamie at The Broke & the Bookish for hosting this every Tuesday. The topic is Books in ______ Setting. I chose magical worlds, because I love getting transported to a new land when I read. So here it goes!

1: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling 

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 10.27.38 PM

How could I not choose these books. They have some of my favorite characters and my favorite magical world. Jo’s words have transported me to Hogwarts when I needed to get away from my own world. She’s inspired me and so many others and she’s also so sweet. I’m so glad I was able to meet her that warm Spring day in DC 6 years ago.

2: Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 10.48.36 PM

I loved these books as a kid. I used to wish I was part of the Pevensie family and that I could go to Narnia. Their adventures were so amazing and the creatures they encountered were fantastical.

3: Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 10.50.11 PM

While I’m not sure I wish to live in Westeros, the people there sure are interesting. I enjoy so many characters and creatures from this land. I would love to meet many of them, but not for too long because I’d be afraid to die. Jon Snow forever!!!

4: Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan 

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 10.40.07 PM

Ok so this one is cheating a bit as I haven’t read the series yet. I do however love the first book and oh how I wish I could go to Camp Half-Blood and Mount Olympus. Seeing all those mythological creatures, gods, goddesses, and demigods I learned about in school would seriously blow my mind. I hope to finish reading the series soon.

5: Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

01alice

Some days I really wish I could fall down a rabbit hole like Alice did. Wonderland sounds so spectacular. The creatures and people there are unique. Also the adventures she goes on are amazing.

6: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum

02oz

Who wouldn’t want to meet the munchkins!? It’s been forever since I’ve read this book, but one can never forget the characters there. The adventure that Dorothy goes on just shows how strong a female can be. She defeated evil and met some amazing people along the way.

7: Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

74406559-barrie

Ok so when I read this book I was highly confused and I really wasn’t a huge fan of it. I don’t know how this was ever considered a book for children. But the movies made me love Neverland in a way the book couldn’t. My favorite adaptations are Hook and the animated version from Disney. The lost boys from Hook were my favorite and I wished I could be one.

8: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

18660669

So Vampire Academy doesn’t really have a magical land, but it has vampires and other creatures that are “magical”. I loved this series so much. My friend kept telling me to read it, but I caved and watched the movie first (I loved that too). I think I loved the different places Rose traveled to and the different takes on vampires the most.

9: Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

8141289_f520

This is another land I’m not sure I’d want to go to. Middle-Earth can be a beautiful and scary place. Like GOT I think it would be fun to meet some of the people and creatures there, but I’d never be able to stay long.

10: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

 the_secret_garden

So The Secret Garden doesn’t have a magical world in it per se, but I always thought of it as one. Like Mary, stepping through that garden door transported me to a new and different world. It was full of mystery and new life. I used to imagine that the house next to my grandfather’s had a door just like in the book. This door was hidden by ivy on the side of their yard. Inside was their expansive backyard full of greenery, a pond, and wildlife. It was my own secret garden and I loved it.

***Have you read any of these books? Did you like the list?

Leave a Reply

