Around the World: One Character at a Time

aroudntheworldgraphic3
Hi everyone and welcome to Around the World: One Character at a Time! This post is something Marissa (Growing-Up Booknerd) and I thought up while talking about her upcoming trip to London and our love of all things Harry Potter! It’s been about two months in the making but it feels so much longer!

In these monthly posts we plan to each choose 3 characters from books we love and write about where (cities, states, countries) we think they’d best fit in. I hope you enjoy this post and the characters we chose!

MasonM: Mountain

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – Mason Ashford

So let’s get something straight. Mason got gipped. If you’ve not read the VA series then you need to but spoiler alert, Mason dies a heartbreaking death saving the women he loves, the same women who has lead him on. Can you tell I’m just a little bitter? Mason is one of the most underrated characters of all time and he deserves a happy life! Let’s go back in time to the day before Mason dies, and instead of following Rose on her crazy exploits, he stays at the ski lodge and decides she isn’t worth his heartbreak. Years later Mason is living away from Damphir and Moroi civilizations in rural Wyoming (West of Cody but east of Yellowstone National Park) running a little bakery with his pregnant Moroi wife.

Now this post is all about matching cities with characters, right? But Mason deserves a story, not just a city. So excuse my tangent.

DracoK: Hollywood

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: Draco Malfoy

I absolutely adore the Harry Potter series and one of my favorite characters is Draco Malfoy. I loved reading how he evolved and how his values changed, as he got older. While I love the man Draco grew to be, I wanted to choose the Draco from book one to talk about. Eleven-year-old Draco was driven by fame and fortune. He had friendships made out of necessity, not because they were great people. First year Draco was also a bit narcissistic. To me these qualities all scream Hollywood, CA. Note, I’m not saying all people from Hollywood are like this, but that’s the stereotype that Hollywood exudes. Draco would be the perfect wild child movie/tv star.

DobbyM: Chicago

Harry Potter by JK Rowling – Dobby the Free Elf

I debated a little over this one but ultimately decided Dobby would be happiest in Chicago! Imagine if you will, a small Dobby knitting hats and socks for all of his homeless human friends and leaving them around the city so they can keep warm. ~heart melts~ The hustle and bustle would be an A+ environment for little Dobby! I kind of imagine him like Buddy the Elf from Elf. “CONGRATULATIONS! YOU DID IT! WORLDS BEST CUP OF COFFEE!”

Miss HoneyK: Mass

Matilda by Ronald Dahl: Miss Honey

To me, Matilda is a classic. I think it should be read and loved by all. When I was in elementary school, I made a diorama with Matilda, Trunchbull, and my favorite character Miss Honey. I usually love the villains, but in Matilda, Miss Honey really stood out to me as a kid. I loved how caring and kind she was to everyone. That she always helped those in need. My favorite quality was that she was so excepting of Matilda, magic and all. She’s also a strong woman, albeit she needed to be reminded of it. I think Miss Honey would thrive in Salem, MA. It’s a quaint, quirky, and quiet town. It’s full of history, just like her and her relationship with Trunchbull. It’s also a place where great literature was written and I think Miss Honey would have endless adventures there.

heroesM: Hollywood

The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan – Will Solace + Nico DiAngelo

This has slowly but surely become the ship I most obsess over. THEY ARE JUST SO DAMN CUTE! I 100% believe Will will (hehe) buy a little soul cycle place out in L.A and be like, “Nico we are, uh, moving to Los Angeles.” Nico will initially throw a fit because why would the prince of the underworld want to live in a sunny hipster place like L.A? Because that’s where the love of his life is living, of course. “Don’t most doctors live in Seattle?” Nico would reply. “This isn’t Grey’s Anatomy, now pack your bags.” Will would say, smiling. I kind of envision Will working for a children’s hospital and then running his soul cycle business on the side. Because when you’re a demi-god you can juggle those two things??? (Shut up and let me live this fantasy.) Don’t worry. Nico will be entirely happy with this set up because he gets to visit his friends at Camp Jupiter often and he gets to stand in the corner of the soul cycle room and creep people out which his thoroughly enjoys doing. Will is trying to get him a part time job because he worries he will be lonely but each time Nico just says he’s busy learning how to master zombies.

Canada MtsK:Mountain
Edge of Wild by Danika Stone: Louise

Edge of Wild is a newer book (5/1/16) and I was lucky enough to be on the blog tour. I highly recommend it and love that it’s full of mystery and small town politics. Plus Danika is the sweetest! If you want more information about Edge of Wild, check out this blog post!  So, I really enjoyed the character of Louise. I liked how low key she was, that she was independent, and she didn’t take crap from anyone. As a person who is very independent, I really related to Louise. When I think of Louise I picture the mountains of Colorado. She’s a survivalist who can take care of herself in the toughest of conditions. I also think she’s strong like the mountains and full of surprises.

I hope y’all liked these match ups and if you haven’t read the book, did reading this make you want to? What else would you like to see? Are there any books or characters you’d like to see featured? Leave some feedback in the comments 🙂

2 thoughts on “Around the World: One Character at a Time

  1. I love this post! It was so much fun to read. 🙂

    I can totally see Draco living in Hollywood. Every time he says something along the lines of “my father will hear about this” I can’t help but think of him as a stereotypical child star that was forced into the industry by his parents.

    I’ve always wondered where characters from dystopian and fantasy series would live if they lived in our real world. Like where would characters like Katniss or Tris make their homes?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Draco was such a snotty nosed brat in first year. lol. Those are great characters! I’ll have to think about where Tris and Katniss would live for a future post! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

