Blog Tour: Saving Montgomery Sole by Mariko Tamaki (Review)

Hi everyone! I’m here today to help celebrate Pride Month! I want to give a big thank you to Nori and Gina Gagliano from Macmillan Publishing. I’m so excited to be part of this blog tour! Today I’m reviewing the wonderful book, Saving Montgomery Sole by Mariko Tamaki. Below will also be a giveaway and all the other tour stops!

25331997

A little background: The book follows Montgomery (Monty), her friends Thomas & Naoki, her family (Mama Kate, Momma Jo & sister Tesla) and their lives in the town of Aunty, CA. Monty and her friends are in school club (Mystery Club), where they explore the unusual and unexplainable. They’re considered the outcasts of the school. Thomas is gay (and is made fun of because of it), Naoki dances to the beat of her own drum, and Monty doesn’t seem to care what anyone thinks. While on the internet one night Monty finds The Eye of Know and buys it. It’s supposed to have mystical powers but when it arrives it’s just a black stone.  Meanwhile, John White (a religious zealot that believes marriage is between and man and woman) rolls into town with his family to start spreading the “word of god”. His son Ken goes to school with Monty & her friends as does Matt Truit, a one time friend of Monty’s turned tormentor. I don’t want to say much more, so as not to ruin the book.

Review: Overall, I enjoyed this book. It took a bit to get into, but it was a quick read once the character introductions were over. I liked that the characters weren’t your typical YA teens. Monty, Thomas & Naoki each had unique qualities. At times it was difficult to agree with Monty and her choices, but I think that’s a good thing. I like to read books where the characters are different from me. While the voice of Monty seemed, at times, accurate for a 16 year old,  she seemed angry a disproportionate about of time and always on the defensive. I suppose that’s how some teens feel though. I enjoyed watching Montgomery grow and learn to judge people by their character and not who their parents are.

I’m glad Mariko Tamaki decided to write Monty’s parents as lesbians and Thomas as gay. It’s refreshing seeing a diverse group of characters. I think that by having these characters, it allows readers to be more open minded about people who differ from them. I think acceptance is even more important now in light of what happened in Orlando recently. We should celebrate people’s differences, not shame them for them. I wish she highlighted these three characters more, but I’m glad as a reader I was able to “see” what the life of a child of same sex parents might be like. The struggles they face from their peers, adults, friends, etc.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ 

Thank you to Macmillan for generously giving away 5 copies of Saving Montgomery Sole! Enter Here

Check out the rest of the blog tour for reviews, interviews, and a giveaway!

Learn more about Saving Montgomery Sole!

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Leave a Reply

