Are You Feeling Lucky Book Exchange!

Are you feeling lucky is a book exchange hosted by the lovely Gail over at Ticket to Anywhere!

I received The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski from the wonderful Lauren (@laurayjames) over at  loveisnotatriangle.com. I’ve been wanting to read this book for awhile and now that the trilogy is out I can’t wait to read all of the books. Did I mention that not only did she get me a book I’ve been wanting to read, but it was also signed! This was so special to me because I live in DE and authors don’t really come to my area, so getting a signed book is very difficult. Lauren was so generous and gave me a bunch of ARCs too! Thank you again so much!!!

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 8.12.15 PM

Ok so onto The Winner’s Curse! I am really enjoying this book. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump, so I’m only about half way through right now, but I’m loving it. Note, all these opinions have are from only reading half of the first book. I don’t know what happens in later chapters or if the characters change. Anyway, on with the show!

The world of this book is very interesting. There are the Herrani (slaves), who used to rule the land, and the Valorian’s. Kestrel is a Valorian and her father is the general of their army. She leads a privileged life and is very wealthy. She lost her mother at a young age and her father has tried to train her as a warrior. She is strong, determined and intelligent. The other main character Arin is Herrani. Kestrel buys him in an auction. From there their relationship grows.

I have to say that I agree with pretty much everyone and I love Kestrel and Arin. I love the dynamic between them, how they push each other, and their banter. I especially love when they play Bite and Sting! Where I’m at in the book, Arin is helping the opposition to Kestrel’s father. I can’t wait to see what unfolds there and between Kestrel and Arin in the next two books.

In a way I feel like I identify with Kestrel. We’re both not into society, etiquette, or dressing up. I like that she can fight if need be and that she’s intelligent. It’s nice seeing a strong female character. I feel like they’re becoming more prevalent in literature, which is amazing. Any who, on with the book. I like Arin because he doesn’t back down and he’s intelligent. He has honor and fights for what he believes in.

I really enjoy some of the secondary characters as well. Kestrel’s friendship with Jess is how I think most seventeen year olds are. They support each other and also push each other. I also like Jess’s brother Ronan. You can tell he likes Kestrel as more than a friend, but he’s not pushing her. They also have a nice banter going on. They kind of remind me of Rose and Adrian from The Vampire Academy (and Arin is Dimitri). I feel I love triangle coming on there.

Well I can’t wait to finish this book and continue on with The Winner’s Crime and The Winner’s Kiss! Thank you Gail for having this book exchange and Lauren for sending me this fabulous book and all the others!

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 9.50.17 PM

2 thoughts on “Are You Feeling Lucky Book Exchange!

Leave a Reply

