Paper Towns… A Review

So I just finished Paper Towns by John Green. I heard good and bad things about this book, but I loved TFIOS so I gave it a chance. Some said it was the best book by John Green they read, while others didn’t like the style or flow of the book. I didn’t hate the book, but I didn’t love it either. The way in which the book was laid out was different (three parts). I understand why he broke it into three parts, but at the same time I think the book didn’t need to be broken down into sections.

The premise of the book was interesting. Quentin and Margo are next door neighbors that were friends, but are now just acquaintances. Margo is the cool girl and Q is friends with the band geeks (Ben and Radar). One night during senior year Margo enlists Q to help her complete a list of 12 things she wants to do. Most are for revenge, but some we find out later are to pull Q out of his shell and make him the hero she always pictured him as. After this night of debauchery, Margo goes missing. Through a series of clues left by Margo, Q, Ben, and Radar try to find where she took off to. Eventually the boys and Ben’s gf/Margo’s friend Lacey embark on a road trip to the Paper Town of Agloe, NY from Orlando, FL. When they reach Agloe they find Margo, but she is shocked to see them. Through the clues and Margo talking to Q, we find out what Paper Towns really mean to Margo. The book leaves you on a semi-cliffhanger. You want to know what happens, but you can also imagine it for yourself.

I loved the mystery that Q, Radar, and Ben had to solve in order to find Margo. I like that they were able to follow the clues, even when they weren’t meant to be clues. I think one of my favorite parts was when Q and Margo went on their wild adventure of revenge and self exploration. I don’t think most kids would do that, but it was fun to read and imagine. I enjoy reading how John Green writes teenage characters. Some things are unrealistic, they always are, but for the most part I think he understands the insecurities we all go through. I loved the dynamic between the three friends, how they worked together, and even when they fought. I didn’t like the reaction from Margo upon seeing everyone, but I guess in a way someone might react that way when they thought they’d escape and then people just show up. I’m also on the fence about the ending. I understand why he left it the way he did, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. All I could think of was, did she keep her promise? Did they talk and email and meet up in some obscure halfway point between NC and NY?

Would I recommend this book? Yes. While it’s not my favorite book he’s written it’s still written well. I think there’s a great back story and the characters are relatable.

This is my first “real” review so go easy on me. Tell me what you liked and didn’t like about it. Do you want more of my opinion or more description of the book?

Leave a Reply

